Purpose Statement

Provide a fair and honest election with integrity, consistency, and accuracy while promoting electorate participation.

Mission Statement

The mission of the Montgomery County Board of Elections and Registration shall be to serve our citizens with a secure, efficient, and effectively managed voter registration and election system, assuring compliance with all State and Federal Election Laws, and dedicated to encouraging maximum participation by all eligible Montgomery County residents.

The Montgomery County Board of Elections and Registration consists of five members appointed by the Montgomery County Board of Commissioners with staggered four-year terms. The Board of Elections and Registration has responsibility for the oversight of elections and registration within Montgomery County. Every two years, the Board of Elections and Registration appoints or reappoints one of its members to serve as chairperson for a two-year term. The chairperson shall preside over all meetings of the Board of Elections and Registration and shall be entitled to vote on all matters coming before the board.  Board meetings are held at 10:00 am on the first Tuesday of each month.  Meetings are open to the public.

The Board of Commissioners is responsible for hiring a full-time Election Supervisor to administer and supervise the conduct of the elections and primaries and the registration of electors of the county. The Election Supervisor shall not be eligible to serve as a member of the Board of Elections and Registration. In addition, the Election Supervisor has responsibility for certifying of candidates for the ballot, storage, maintenance and set-up of voting equipment, and certification of all election results.  The Election Supervisor assists the Board of Elections and Registration with its responsibility to select, appoint, and train poll workers.

Helpful links and resources:

A Guide for Registered Voters           https://sos.ga.gov/sites/default/files/forms/Absentee_Voting_In_Georgia_Rev_3-30-22.pdf

My Voter Page   https://mvp.sos.ga.gov/s/

Secretary of State

Elections Division  https://sos.ga.gov/elections-division-georgia-secretary-states-office


Board of Elections & Registration

Name Position Term Ends
William Morris Chairman 01/01/27
Nakia Brazell Vice Chairman 01/01/27
Bennie Sammons Member 01/01/27
Barbara Clark Member 01/01/25
James Welch Member 01/01/25

Sheila Cheek (Election Supervisor)
scheek [at] montcoga.gov
Bobbie Carpenter (Clerk)
bcarpenter [at] montcoga.gov